News & Events

Distinguished Su Lectureship

LectureWith the establishment of the Su Conference Room and the Su Distinguished Lecture Series, the University of Rochester joins the Su family in honoring Professor Su's long and distinguished career in Chemical Engineering and the spirit with which he pursued it.

The 15th G.J. and S.T. Su Distinguished Lectureship
University of Rochester, Department of Chemical Engineering

Professor Linda J. Broadbelt

Linda Broadbelt

Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor in and
Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Northwestern University.

April 26, 2017
Gavett Hall 202
Lecture: 3:25 - 4:40 p.m.

Reception in Gavett 208A 
2:30 - 3:15 p.m.

"Reaction Pathway Discovery an Analysis: Bringing Biological and Chemical Catalysis Together"

Linda Broadbelt is Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor in and Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering University of Northwestern University.  She was also appointed the Donald and June Brewer Junior Professor from 1994-1996.  She has completed the short course Business of Scientists and Engineers through the Kellogg Graduate School of Management.  Her research and teaching interests are in the area of multiscale modeling, complex kinetics modeling, environmental catalysis, novel biochemical pathways, and polymerization/depolymerization kinetics.  She currently the Past Chair of the Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Division of AIChE, and previously served on Executive Board of the National Program Committee of AIChE.  She currently as Associate Editor for Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research.  Her honors include selection as the AIChE Women's Initiative Committee mentorship Excellence Award winner, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award, a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation, appointment to the Defense Science Study Group of the Institute for Defense Analyses, and selection as the Ernest W. Thiele Lecturer at the University of Notre Dame and the Allan P. Colburn Lecturer at the University of Delaware.


In honor of Professor Gouq-Jen Su (1908-1996). Professor Su lived a long and productive life, dedicated to the pursuit of ideas and ideals. He was born in 1908 in Fukien, a coastal province in the southern region of China. He attended a Northern Baptist missionary school as a teenager. In 1931, at the age of 23, Professor Su graduated from Tsing Hua University in Peking. In 1934, Gouq-Jen Su was one of the several college graduates selected, through a nation-wide examination, to further his studies at the graduate level, in the United States. That summer, he journeyed to MIT to continue his studies and, in three years, received his D.Sc. degree. During World War II, Dr. Su served for four years as chairman of the Chemical Engineering Department at Tsing Hua University. He helped design and operate an alcohol fermentation plant and a sugar refinery in Kunming. The alcohol produced was mixed with gasoline and was utilized as liquid fuel for U.S. Army motor vehicles traveling on the Burma Road, some forty years ahead of gasohol. Professor Su joined our faculty at the University of Rochester in 1947 and retired in 1974, though continuing as Emeritus for the remainder of his life. Over his active fifty-year career, Professor Su supervised 33 master's students and 15 doctoral students. Among his numerous publications, his outstanding papers on applied thermodynamics have been widely cited and are considered landmarks in the field. He proposed a modified form of the van der Waals Law of Corresponding States. Every thermodynamics textbook, to this day, contains his generalized equations of state for real gases.

Su Lectureship Speakers

14th April 27, 2016 Professor Paula T. Hammond, MIT
13th April 29, 2015 Professor Ching Tang, University of Rochester
12th April 23, 2014 Professor Donald R. Paul, University of Texas at Austin
11th May 1, 2013 Professor Christopher N. Bowmen,University of Colorado Boulder
10th April 25, 2012 Professor James C. Liao, UCLA
 9th May 5, 2010 Professor Brian Korgel, The University of Texas at Austin
 8th May 20, 2009 Professor Tobin Marks, Northwestern University
 7th April 30, 2008 Professor Joseph M. DeSimone, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
 6th March 22, 2007 Professor Michael Graetzel, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
 5th April 26, 2006 Professor Eric W. Kaler, University of Delaware
 4th April 25, 2005 Professor Hector D. Abruna, Cornell University
 3rd April 13, 2004 Professor Thomas A. Zawodzinksi, Case Western University
 2nd May 9, 2003 Professor Jacob Israelachvili, University California, Santa Barbara
 1st April 24, 2002 Professor Jackie Ying, MIT